US Lifts Ban On Refugees From 11 High risk Countries | Current Affairs, Current Affairs 2019

US Lifts Ban On Refugees From 11 High risk Countries

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

The United States announced that it is lifting its ban on refugees from 11 high-risk countries, but stressed that those seeking to enter its country would come under much tougher scrutiny than in the past.

Making the announcement, Homeland Security Secretary Kirstjen Nielsen said, ‘Applicants from 11 countries, unnamed but understood to include 10 Muslim-majority nations plus North Korea, will face tougher “risk-based” assessments to be accepted.It’s critically important that we know who is entering the United States. These additional security measures will make it harder for bad actors to exploit our refugee program, and they will ensure we take a more risk-based approach to protecting the homeland.

The 11 countries, hit with a ban in October in the Trump administration’s revised refugee policy, have not been identified officially.

But non-governmental groups say list includes Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Mali, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

Subscribe for News Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *