Union Minister Piyush Goyal appointed as Leader of House in Rajya Sabha | Daily Current Affairs 2021
onwin giriş

Union Minister Piyush Goyal appointed as Leader of House in Rajya Sabha

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
12 states to set up solar parks, ultra mega solar projects: Goyal
Piyush Goyal

Union Minister Piyush Goyal is set to be the Leader of the House in the Rajya Sabha.

He will replace Thaawarchand Gehlot, who is now the Governor of Karnataka.


  • This replacement signals the induction of a younger leader for a role that is usually handled by veterans.
  • Piyush Goyal was deputy leader when Gehlot was the leader of the house.
  • Thaawar Chand Gehlot has been now appointed as governor of Karnataka.
  • Before becoming a minister in 2014, Goyal was BJP treasurer. He was also engaged in poll management activities.
  • As deputy leader of the House of Elders, Goyal has been an effective floor manager and played a role in the passage of key legislation.

About the Leader of the House in Rajya Sabha:

  • The leader of the House is the “leader and parliamentary chairperson” of the majority party in Rajya Sabha.
  • The Leader is usually either a cabinet minister or another nominated minister.
  • The Leader of the House is responsible for organizing government meetings and business in the House.

Is it a constitutional post?

  • No, the Office of the leader of the House is not enshrined in the constitution.
  • It is provided under the Rules of Rajya Sabha.

Rajya Sabha or Council of States:

  • It is the upper house of the bicameral Parliament of India.
  • It is a permanent body and is not subject to dissolution.
  • It has a maximum membership of 245 as of 2021. Out of 245, 233 members are elected by legislatures of states and union territories by single transferable votes through Open Ballot.
  • 12 members are nominated by President for their contributions in the fields of art, science, literature and social services.
  • The maximum seating capacity of Rajya Sabha is 250 in which 238 can be elected and 12 are nominated.
  • Article 80 of the Constitution provides that, members sit for staggered terms lasting six years.
  • Elections are held every year with about a third of 233 designates up for election every two years.

Note: The Upper House was founded on 3 April 1952 by the Constituent Assembly of India. It is headquartered in New Delhi.

Subscribe for News Feed