Tirath Singh Rawat takes oath as Uttarakhand CM; BJP-JJP govt wins trust vote in Haryana Assembly | Daily Current Affairs 2021
onwin giriş

Tirath Singh Rawat takes oath as Uttarakhand CM; BJP-JJP govt wins trust vote in Haryana Assembly

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

In Uttarakhand, Tirath Singh Rawat was sworn-in as the new chief minister yesterday. 

He was administered the oath of office by Uttarakhand Governor Baby Rani Maurya at Raj Bhawan in Dehradun. 

Senior BJP leaders, Central observer and former Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Dr. Raman Singh along with state BJP in-charge Dushyant Kumar were present on this occasion. 

Dr. Raman Singh told media that the name of the cabinet ministers will be announced soon. 

AIR correspondent reports, Mr. Tirath Singh Rawat, Lok Sabha MP from Garhwal and  former state BJP chief is the 10th Chief Minister of the Uttarakhand. 

His name was announced by the outgoing chief minister Trivendra Singh Rawat after the legislature party meeting, which lasted around 30 minutes yesterday. 

After that, Tirath Singh Rawat accompanied by party MLAs and MPs met the governor at Raj Bhawan to stake his claim to form the government. 

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party has 56 MLAs in the 70-member state Assembly. Tirath Singh Rawat was the state BJP president from 2013 to 2015 and is currently the party’s national secretary. 

He was also an MLA from the Chaubattakhal constituency from 2012 to 2017. 

He has held important organisational positions both in the state and at the Centre.
Meanwhile, Haryana’s BJP-JJP government won the trust vote in the house of state Assembly yesterday. 

The 55 votes were polled against the No Confidence Motion while 32 votes were polled in favour of motion. 

The  No Confidence Motion was moved against the BJP-JJP government by the  leader of opposition in the house Bhupender Singh Hooda,  which had the signatures of 27 Congress MLAs.
AIR correspondent reports that the 90-member Haryana assembly has currently an effective strength of 88 members.

The ruling BJP has 40 members, the JJP 10 and the Congress 30. Seven were Independents, five of whom are supporting the government, while one member is of the Haryana Lokhit Party, who has also extended support to the government.

Source: News On Air

Subscribe for News Feed