Tanzanian novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah wins 2021 Nobel | Daily Current Affairs 2021
1xbet 1xbet bahisno1 bahsegel casino siteleri ecopayz güvenilir bahis siteleri canlı bahis siteleri iddaa marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis restbet canlı skor süperbahis mobilbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis

Tanzanian novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah wins 2021 Nobel

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
Nobel Prize for Literature 2021

Nobel Prize for Literature 2021: The 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature 2021 has been awarded to  Novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah.

Key Highlights:

  • He has been awarded for his uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents.
  • The prize is awarded by the Swedish Academy and is worth 10 million Swedish crowns ($1.14m / £840,000).
  • Gurnah, whose native language is Swahili but who writes in English, is only the sixth Africa-born author to be awarded the Nobel for literature.
  • The 2020 Nobel Prize for Literature was awarded to American poet Louise Gluck for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal.

About Abdulrazak Gurnah:

  • Abdulrazak Gurnah, 73, grew up on the island of Zanzibar.
  • He came to in England as a refugee in 1960s.
  • He served as Professor of English and Postcolonial Literatures at the University of Kent, Canterbury.
  • He is the author of 10 novels, including Paradise and Desertion.
  • His 4th novel ‘Paradise’, which was published in 1994 told the story of a boy growing up in Tanzania in the early 20th Century and was nominated for the Booker Prize, marking his breakthrough as a novelist.
  • Gurnah is the first black African author to have won the award since Wole Soyinka in 1986.

Nobel Prize for Literature:

  • The Nobel Prize in Literature is awarded every year to an author from any country that has produced the most outstanding work in an idealistic direction in the field of literature.
  • The award is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the will of Alfred Nobel in 1895.
  • Since 1901, the Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded 113 times to 117 Nobel Prize laureates.
  • The Nobel Prize has honoured several poets, novelists and songwriters in the past including Jean-Paul Sartre, William Butler Yeats, Ernest Miller Hemingway, and Bob Dylan.

Some Key Facts

  • Rabindranath Tagore is the only Indian and also the first non-European literature laureate to win the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1913, which has been dominated by European and North American writers since it was founded in 1901.
    • He won this award for his profoundly sensitive, fresh and beautiful poetry for his collection Gitanjali published in London in 1912.
  • Toni Morrison, one of the most powerful and distinguished storytellers of the time, became the first African American woman to be awarded a Nobel Prize when she won the 1993 literature prize. 

Subscribe for News Feed