Daily Current Affairs 2021 Six new governors appointed | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Six new governors appointed

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

Rashtrapati Bhavan comminiquePresident Pranab Mukherjee filled up vacancies of governors in four northeastern states while shifting two governors.

According to an Rashtrapati Bhavan comminique, V. Shanmuganthan has now been appointed as the governor of Meghalaya whereas Arunachal Pradesh Governor, Lt. Gen. Nirbhay Sharma (retd.) has been transferred to Mizoram for the remainder of his term which lasts till 2018. The seventh governor to be named for the northeastern state since July 2014, he will be succeeded in Itanagar by J.P. Rajkhowa.

Meghalaya and Mizoram were currently being held as additional charges by West Bengal Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi.

Tripura, that was being looked after by Nagaland Governor Padmanabha Acharya, will now have BJP leader Tathagata Roy in the Raj Bhavan. Roy is a former chief of the Bharatiya Janata Party’s West Bengal unit.

Jharkhand Governor Syed Ahmed has been transferred to Manipur for the remainder of his term, and will be succeeded by Droupadi Murmu. Manipur was being held as additional charge by Uttarakhand Governor K.K.Paul when he was Meghalaya governor.

The above appointment will take effect from the dates the incumbents assume charge of their respective offices, the statement said.

Subscribe for News Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *