Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award 2021 Announced | Daily Current Affairs 2021
1xbet 1xbet bahisno1 bahsegel casino siteleri ecopayz güvenilir bahis siteleri canlı bahis siteleri iddaa marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis restbet canlı skor süperbahis mobilbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award 2021 Announced

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award 2021

SSB Award 2021: Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (SSB prize) for science and technology 2021, were presented during the 80th foundation day of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR).

Key Points:

  • The award is given out to scientist, each year, for their outstanding contributions to science and technology, every year.
  • The award is named after the founder Director of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) India – the late Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar.
  • The SSB prize was awarded to 11 Scientists by the Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu.
  • List of 11 scientists awardees are as follows:

Engineering sciences category:

  • Dr Debdeep Mukhopadhyay, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, received the award under the engineering sciences category.

Mathematical sciences category:

  • Dr Anish Ghosh, school of mathematics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai.
  • Dr Saket Saurabh, The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai, was announced winners.

Chemical sciences category:

  • Two researchers from the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru, Dr Kanishka Biswas from the International Centre of Materials Science and Dr T Govindaraju, from the Bio-organic Chemistry Laboratory, announced as recipients.

Biological Sciences category:

  • Dr Amit Singh, department of microbiology and cell biology, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru.
  • Dr Arun Kumar Shukla, department of biological sciences and bioengineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur.

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean, and Planetary Sciences category:

  • Dr Binoy Kumar Saikia from Coal and Energy Research Group, CSIR North East Institute of Science and Technology, Jorhat, was named recipient.

Physical sciences:

  • Dr Kanak Saha, from Pune’s Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, received the award for physical sciences.

Medical sciences:

  • Dr Jeemon Panniyammakal, Achutha Menon Centre for Health Science Studies, Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram.
  • Dr Rohit Srivastava, department of biosciences and bioengineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay.

About SSB Prize:

  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) award has been named after the founder & Director of CSIR, late Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar.
  • This award is presented to recognize outstanding Indian work in science and technology.
  • The prize is given to Indian scientists below the age of 45 for outstanding research in seven fields.
  • They are:
  • Biological Sciences,
  • Chemical Sciences,
  • Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences,
  • Engineering Sciences,
  • Mathematical Sciences,
  • Medical Sciences
  • Physical Sciences
  • The prize includes a citation, a plaque, and a cash award of ₹5,00,000 lakh.
  • In addition to the recognition and cash prize, CSIR will also grant the winners an honorarium of Rs.15,000 per month.

 About Dr. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar:

  • Sir Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar  (21 February 1894 – 1 January 1955)  OBE, FNI, FASc, FRS, FRIC, FInstP was an Indian colloid chemist, academic and scientific administrator.
  • He was the first director-general of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR).
  • He is revered as the “father of research laboratories” in India.
  • He was also the first Chairman of the University Grants Commission (UGC).
  • He is credited with establishing 12 national research laboratories in India.
  • He also served as Secretary of the Ministry of Education and Educational Adviser for the government. He played a role both in the constitution and deliberations of the Scientific Manpower Committee Report of 1948.
  • He was awarded Padma Bhushan by the government of India in 1954.

Subscribe for News Feed