Sahitya Akademi announces winners of 2017 | Current Affairs, Current Affairs 2019

Sahitya Akademi announces winners of 2017

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

Sahitya Akademi has announced its annual awards recognising the literary works of 24 writers writing in 24 Indian languages.
Speaking to reporters, K Sreenivasarao, Secretary of Sahitya Akademni said, ‘Seven books of novels, five of poetry, five of short stories, five of literary criticism and one of play and essays have won the Sahitya Akademi Awards 2017’.
Mamang Dais name has been selected for his English novel “The Black Hill”, and Niranjan Mishra is in the list of winners for his Sanskrit novel “Gangaputravadanam”, K P Ramanunni has won for “Daivathinte Pusthakam” in Malayalam and Nachhattar for his Punjabi novel “Slow Down”.
The poets who feature in the list of winners are Udaya Narayana Singh (Maithili), Shrikant Deshmukh (Marathi), Bhujanga Tudu (Santali), Inqulab (Tamil) and Devipriya (Telugu).
Five writers awarded for their short stories are Shiv Mehta (Dogri), Autar Krishen Rahbar (Kashmiri), Gajanan Jog (Konkani), Gayatri Saraf (Odia), and Baig Ehsas (Urdu).
Ramesh Kuntal Megh (Hindi), T P Ashoka (Kannada), Urmi Ghanshyam Desai (Gujarati), Bina Hangkhim (Nepali), and Neeraj Daiya (Rajasthani) have been recognised for their literary criticism.
Jagdish Lachhani (Sindhi) for his essays and Rajen Toijamba (Manipuri) for his play are also among the winners.

Subscribe for News Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *