Rajnath inducted into Cabinet panel following controversy | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Rajnath inducted into Cabinet panel following controversy

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

Government on Thursday changed the notification regarding composition of key cabinet panels because of the controversy where Rajnath Singh was initially made a member of only two key cabinet committees. Now, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh has been included in four more key cabinet committees following an amendment issued by the Cabinet Secretariat.

The Cabinet Secretariat issued an amendment, adding Rajnath Singh’s name to four more committees- Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs, Parliamentary Affairs and Committee on Investment and Growth and Employment and Skill Development. Earlier, he was only made a member of two cabinet committees that were, Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs and the key Cabinet Committee on Security.

Rajnath Singh twice served as BJP chief as well as CM of Uttar Pradesh. In the last government, he was a part of the cabinet comittees on both political and parliamentary affairs.

The Government had reconstituted eight key cabinet committees under the Transaction of Business Rules on June 5, 2019. While the newly sworn-in Home Minister Amit Shah was included in all 8 cabinet committees, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman was included in 6 and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh in 2.

The key cabinet committee on security includes the Prime Minister, Amit Shah, Sitharaman, Jaishankar and Rajnath Singh.

Subscribe for News Feed