Pushkar Singh Dhami to take oath as 11th chief minister of Uttarakhand | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Pushkar Singh Dhami to take oath as 11th chief minister of Uttarakhand

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
Pushkar Singh Dhami

Pushkar Singh Dhami, a two-term MLA from Khatima in Udham Singh Nagar district, has become the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand.

He took an oath as Chief Minister of Uttarakhand in Dehradun on 4 July 2021.

He replaced Tirath Singh Rawat.

45-year-old Pushkar Singh Dhami has become the youngest CM of Uttarakhand.

Key Points:

  • The Legislative Party meeting took place at the State Headquarters in Dehradun to elect the new Uttarkhand Chief Minister in the presence of Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and other BJP leaders.
  • He was elected by the State legislature party as its leader on 3rd July 2021, following the resignation of Tirath Singh Rawat.
  • Mr. Rawat had submitted his resignation to Governor Baby Rani Maurya on 2nd July 2021.
  • He had quit citing constitutional reasons, of not seeing his way clear to getting elected as a member of the Assembly in Uttarakhand within the stipulated six-month period.
  • However, he continues to be a Lok Sabha MP from the State.

About Pushkar Singh Dhami:

  • Born in Pithoragarh district in 1975, Pushkar Singh Dhami is a law graduate in human resource management and industrial relations.
  • Dhami has worked in different positions in the RSS and its affiliate bodies for 33 years.
  • He was also a member of the ABVP for 10 years, during which time he worked in the Awadh Prant region of Uttar Pradesh.
  • He had been the president of BJP’s Uttarakhand Yuva Morcha twice, from 2002 to 2008.
  • Dhami had also served as Officer on Special Duty (OSD) to Bhagat Singh Koshiyari when he was the chief minister in 2001-2002.
  • He also held the post of vice-chairman (with state minister rank) of the urban monitoring committee in the state.

About Uttarakhand:

  • It is a state in northern India crossed by the Himalayas.
  • Uttarakhand became the 27th state of the Republic of India On 9 November 2000.
  • It was carved from the Himalayan districts of Uttar Pradesh.
  • Its winter Capital is Dehradun and its summer capital is Gairsain.
  • The Chief Minister and the Governor of Uttarakhand are Pushkar Singh Dhami and Baby Rani Maurya respectively.

Subscribe for News Feed