President’s Colour to be awarded to Naval Aviation on 6th September | Daily Current Affairs 2021

President’s Colour to be awarded to Naval Aviation on 6th September

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
Indian Naval Aviation

President’s Colour: President of India Ram Nath Kovind, on 6th September 2021, will award the President’s Colour to Indian Naval Aviation at the ceremonial parade to be held at INS Hansa, Goa.

Key Highlights:

  • During the occasion, a Special Day Cover will be released by the Postal Department.
  • The ceremony is expected to be attended by the Governor of Goa, Raksha Mantri, Chief Minister of Goa, Chief of the Naval Staff several other civil and military dignitaries.

Note: Naval Aviation has been at the forefront in inducting women into the fighting arm of the Navy, and making them work shoulder to shoulder with their male counterparts.

About President’s Colour:

  • The President’s Colour is the highest honour bestowed on a military unit in recognition of its exceptional service to the nation.
  • The Indian Navy was the first amongst the Indian Armed Forces to be awarded the President’s Colour on 27 May 1951 by Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the then President of India.
  • Subsequent recipients of the President’s Colour in the Navy include Southern Naval Command, Eastern Naval Command, Western Naval Command, Eastern Fleet, Western Fleet, Submarine Arm, INS Shivaji, and the Indian Naval Academy.

About Indian Naval Aviation:

  • Indian Naval Aviation came into being with the acquisition of the first Sealand aircraft on January 13, 1951, and the commissioning of INS Garuda, the first Naval Air Station, on May 11, 1953.
  • It has played a major role in operations such as Op Cactus, Op Jupiter, Op Shield, Op Vijay, and Op Parakram as well as spearheaded Humanitarian And Disaster Relief (HADR) operations on numerous occasions both in India and the extended neighbourhood.
  • Naval Aviators have been decorated with one Mahavir Chakra, six Vir Chakras, one Kirti Chakra, seven Shaurya Chakras, one Yudh Seva Medal, and a large number of Nao Sena Medals (Gallantry) over the years,
  • Naval Aviation boasts of nine air stations and three naval air enclaves along the Indian coastline and in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands.
  • Over the past seven decades, it had transformed into a modern, technologically advanced, and highly potent force, with more than 250 aircraft comprising carrier-borne fighters, maritime reconnaissance aircraft, helicopters and remotely piloted aircraft (RPA).

Subscribe for News Feed