President Ram Nath Kovind appointed governors for seven states | Daily Current Affairs 2021
1xbet 1xbet bahisno1 bahsegel casino siteleri ecopayz güvenilir bahis siteleri canlı bahis siteleri iddaa marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis restbet canlı skor süperbahis mobilbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed governors for seven states

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed governors for seven states — Bihar, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Sikkim, Meghalaya, and Tripura. Governor Satya Pal Malik has been transferred from Bihar to Jammu and Kashmir to replace NN Vohra, while senior BJP leader Lalji Tandon has been appointed the Governor of Bihar, replacing Malik. Kaptan Singh Solanki, the Governor of Haryana, has been transferred to Tripura, while Satyadev Narayan Arya will be the new Haryana governor. Tripura governor Tathagata Roy has been transferred to Meghalaya, and Ganga Prasad, the Governor of Meghalaya, has been transferred to Sikkim. Baby Rani Maurya will be the new Governor of Uttarakhand.

Here are brief profiles of the seven newly-appointed governors:
Satya Pal Malik – Jammu & Kashmir
Satya Pal Malik will be the first career politician to be appointed to the position in the last 51 years. Malik started his political career as a student leader in Meerut University and became MLA of Charan Singh’s Bhartiya Kranti Dal from Baghpat in Uttar Pradesh in 1974. A socialist, Malik served as a member of Rajya Sabha for the party from 1980 till 1984 when he joined Congress. But resigned three years later in the backdrop of the Bofors scam. He switched to the V P Singh-led Janta Dal in 1988 and became an MP from Aligarh on its ticket in 1989. In 2004, Malik joined the BJP and unsuccessfully contested Lok Sabha elections, losing to former prime minister Charan Singh’s son Ajit Singh. Before taking oath as Bihar governor on 4 October, 2017, he was in-charge of the BJP’s Kisan Morcha. He was the Union minister of state, parliamentary affairs and tourism from 21 April, 1990 to 10 November, 1990.

Tathagata Roy – Meghalaya
Tathagat Roy was BJP’s West Bengal unit president from 2002 to 2006 and had twice unsuccessfully contested Lok Sabha elections. Before his political career, he was part of the Calcutta Metro railway project and had designed the Calcutta Metro.

Lalji Tandon – Bihar

A BJP stalwart from Uttar Pradesh and was a close aide of late former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. Tandon has been crucial for BJP’s campaign in Lucknow. He has been a member of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council for two terms (1978-84). He has also been an MLA from Lucknow West for three terms from 1996 to 2009.

Ganga Prasad – Sikkim
Prasad was a member of the legislative council in Bihar for 18 years and a former leader of Opposition in the Bihar Assembly. Being a businessman by profession but started his political career as a Jan Sangh member in 1967 and held various organisational posts in it as well as in BJP. During his tenure as Meghalaya governor, Prasad returned the controversial Khasi Hills Autonomous District (Khasi Social Custom of Lineage) (Second Amendment) Bill, 2018.

Kaptan Singh Solanki -Tripura
A former Rajya Sabha member, Solanki was appointed the Governor of Haryana in 2014. Solanki was elected to the Rajya Sabha in August 2009.

Satyadev Narayan Arya – Haryana
SN Arya is eight time MLA from Bihar. He was a minister in the 2010 BJP-JDU government in the state.

Baby Rani Maurya – Uttarakhand
She is a BJP leader from Agra. DNA reports that Maurya had also previously held the post of Agra mayor.

Subscribe for News Feed