President presents best parliamentarian awards | Daily Current Affairs 2021
onwin giriş

President presents best parliamentarian awards

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

President presents best parliamentarian awardsPresident Pranab Mukherjee Tuesday presented the outstanding parliamentarian awards to Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Congress leader Karan Singh and JD-U president Sharad Yadav for 2010, 2011 and 2012, respectively.

At a function organised by the Indian Parliamentary Group, Mukherjee said Jaitley, Karan Singh and Yadav were worthy successors of the illustrious lineage of parliamentarians who have received the award in the past.

“They have been steadfast in their commitment to our country and its people. All of them have made substantial contributions to our parliamentary life,” he said.

The president complimented Prime Minister Narendra Modi for having commenced his innings in parliament as leader of the majority party by bowing down in front of its steps and paying homage to this “great institution”.

Speaking on the occasion, Modi urged Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan to convene a meeting of speakers of all state assemblies, so that the practice of awarding outstanding legislators could be extended to the states as well.

He said the country was looking at parliament with a lot of hope, and added that it may also be worthwhile to conduct a survey among the people as to how they judged a particular session of parliament.

Subscribe for News Feed