PM renames three islands in Andaman and Nicobar | Daily Current Affairs 2021

PM renames three islands in Andaman and Nicobar

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has renamed three islands in Andaman & Nicobar. The three islands — Ross Island, Neil Island and Havelock Island — will now be called Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Island, Shaheed Dweep and Swaraj Dweep, respectively, said Modi at a public function in Port Blair. He also hoisted a 150-feet-high national flag at Port Blair to mark the 75th anniversary of freedom fighter Subhash Chandra Bose’s declaration of the formation of the Azad Hind government in 1943.

Earlier in the day, PM Modi addressed the public in Car Nicobar and congratulated them for overcoming the impact of the tsunami which had struck the island in 2004 and assured to provide better facilities to the people in Andamans. “Along with the security of people at Car Nicobar, the government is making efforts to ensure employment for youth, education for children, medical care for the aged and facilities for the farmers,” Modi said. Modi also paid homage to the 2014 Tsunami victims at the Tsunami Memorial in Car Nicobar and visited Cellular Jail in Port Blair.

Subscribe for News Feed