OIC Calls for Permanent Commission for Israel and Palestinian Areas | Daily Current Affairs 2021

OIC Calls for Permanent Commission for Israel and Palestinian Areas

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)

The organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) has recently called United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) to establish a permanent commission to report on human rights violations in Israel, Gaza and the West Bank.

The move comes in the wake of the latest surge in violence in the Israel-Palestine conflict.

Proposed Permanent Commission:

  • The Proposed Commission will be an independent, international commission of inquiry.
  • It will be appointed by the UNHRC president to investigate violations of international humanitarian and human rights law in Israel and Palestinian areas.
  • The Commission will authorize “commission of inquiry (COI)” which is the highest level of scrutiny.
  • The commission would also investigate all underlying root causes of recurrent tensions, instability and protraction of conflict including discrimination and repression.

Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OCI):

  • OIC is the second-largest intergovernmental organization after the United Nations.
  • It was established upon a decision of the historical summit which took place in Rabat, Kingdom of Morocco, in 1969.
  • It is headquartered in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
  • It comprises of 57 states as its members.
  • It represents the collective voice of the Muslim world.
  • It works for the protection of the interests of the Muslim world in the spirit of promoting international peace and harmony among various people of the world.

Note: India is not a member of the OIC. However, India was invited as a guest of honour at the 46th Session of the Council of Foreign Ministers in 2019.

United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHCR):

  • UNHCR is an inter-governmental body within the United Nations system responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights around the world.
  • It was founded on 15 March 2006 by the UN General Assembly Resolution 60/251.
  • It replaced the former United Nations Commission on Human Rights.
  • The UNHRC works closely with the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR).
  • The Council comprises of 47 Member States, which are elected by the UN General Assembly.
  • The Council’s Membership is based on equitable geographical distribution.
  • The members of the Council serve for a period of three years and are not eligible for immediate re-election after serving two consecutive terms.
  • Its main task is to investigate allegations of breaches of human rights in UN member states. It also addresses important thematic human rights issues such as freedom of expression, women’s rights, LGBT rights, and the rights of racial and ethnic minorities.

Note: India was elected to the Council for a period of three years beginning 1st January 2019.

Subscribe for News Feed