Nobel Laureate Amartya Sen conferred with Spain’s top award in social sciences | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Nobel Laureate Amartya Sen conferred with Spain’s top award in social sciences

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
Amartya Sen

Indian economist and Nobel Laureate Amartya Kumar Sen has recently been conferred with Spain’s top Princess of Asturias Award in the social sciences category.


  • The jury announced the award virtually due to the ongoing pandemic.
  • The 87-year-old Sen was selected from 41 candidates of 20 nationalities.
  • He won the award for his research on famines and his theory of human development, welfare economics and the underlying mechanisms of poverty have contributed to the fight against injustice, inequality, disease and ignorance.

About the Award:

  • Princess of Asturias Awards are annual prizes awarded by the Princess of Asturias Foundation in Spain.
  • The awards are presented at a ceremony held at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo, Spain.
  • The prestigious awards are awarded to individuals, entities or organizations from around the world that make notable achievements in the sciences, humanities, and public affairs.
  • The award is presented in 8 categories. They are:
  1. Arts
  2. Literature
  3. Social Sciences
  4. International Corporation
  5. Communication and Humanities
  6. Technical and Scientific Research
  7. Sports
  8. Concord
  9. The award comprises a Joan Miro sculpture representing and symbolizing the Award, a diploma, an insignia, and a cash prize of 50,000 Euros.
  10. The awards were first presented in 1981.

About Amartya Sen:

  • He is the Professor at the Thomas W. Lamont University and Professor of Economics and Philosophy at Harvard University.
  • He received his PhD from the University of Cambridge (UK) and taught Economics at the Indian Universities of Calcutta and Delhi, the London School of Economics, and the Universities of Oxford (UK) and Harvard (USA).
  • He won the Nobel Prize in Economics in 1998.
  • He was also honoured with Bharat Ratna in 1999 by the Government of India (GoI) for his contribution to economics.

Subscribe for News Feed