Nitish takes oath as Bihar CM; Lalu Yadav’s sons in cabinet | Daily Current Affairs 2021
onwin giriş

Nitish takes oath as Bihar CM; Lalu Yadav’s sons in cabinet

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
Bihar CM Nitish Kumar

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar

Janata Dal (United) leader Nitish Kumar sworn-in for a fifth time as the Chief Minster for Bihar on Friday afternoon in Gandhi Maidan, Patna.

The state police made elaborate arrangements at the venue, which received over 50 VVIPs, including 9 chief ministers, besides nearly 1.5 lakh people.

RJD leader Lalu Prasad’s both sons — Tejaswi and Tej Pratap — take oath as ministers in Nitish government.

Younger sibling Tejaswi is tipped to become the Deputy CM.

The grand alliance cabinet may accommodate 28 ministers and both sons of RJD chief Lalu Prasad were sworn in as ministers on Friday.

The cabinet is likely to accommodate 12 ministers each from the RJD and the Janata Dal(United) and four from the Congress.

Based on the constitutional stipulation that the cabinet cannot accommodate members beyond 15% of the 243-seat Bihar assembly, no more than 36 can be accommodated.

Bihar Congress president Ashok Choudhary and senior RJD leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui, among others, take oath.

From RJD’s quota of 12 ministers, names of Tejaswi Yadav, his brother Tej Pratap Yadav, Abdul Bari Siddiqui, Abdul Gafoor, Vijay Prakash, Chandrika Rai, Mundrika Singh Yadav, Santosh Nirala, Ram Vichar Rai and Sheo Chander Ram were confirmed by RJD sources.

Bijendra Prasad Yadav, Shrawan Kumar, Rajiv Ranjan Singh Lallan and Jay Kumar Singh, all members of the outgoing cabinet, will also find a place in the new ministry.

Manju Varma, Madan Sahni, Shailesh Kumar and Kapildeo Kamat were among those tipped for ministerial berths.

Highly placed sources in the Raj Bhavan said the list of ministers has reached Governor Ram Nath Kovind.

JD(U) said there would be many new faces among 12 ministers from the party.

Congress MLAs to take oath as ministers in Bihar government on Friday are Ashok Choudhary, Madan Mohan Jha, Awadhesh Singh and Abdul Mastan.

Subscribe for News Feed