< MP bypolls: Congress wins Lok Sabha seat, BJP assembly | Current Affairs, Current Affairs 2019

MP bypolls: Congress wins Lok Sabha seat, BJP assembly

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

mp-bypollsThe Congress won the bypoll held for Madhya Pradesh’s Ratlam-Jhabhua parliamentary seat while the BJP won the Devas state assembly seat as the results were declared on Tuesday.

Congress candidate Kantilal Bhuriya won the Lok Sabha seat with 88,832 votes while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Gayatri Raje Pawar won the assembly seat by 30,778 votes.

Announcing the results, Chief Electoral Officer Saleena Singh said the counting for the by-polls was conducted at Ratlam, Jhabua, Alirajpur, and Devas district headquarters amid heavy security.

BJP had fielded Nirmala Bhuriya, daughter of late party leader Dilip Singh Bhuriya, from Jhabua while Congress had fielded former union minister Kantilal Bhuriya.

In Devas, BJP’s Gayatri Pawar was contesting against Congress’s Jai Prakash Shastri in the assembly by-poll.

The death of BJP leader and Jhabhua MP Dilip Singh Bhuria and Devas legislator Tukojirao Pawar had prompted the by-elections.

Subscribe for News Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *