Mount Nyiragongo erupts in eastern DR Congo | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Mount Nyiragongo erupts in eastern DR Congo

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

The government of the Democratic Republic of Congo recently launched an evacuation plan for the “eastern city of Goma” after the volcano Mount Nyiragongo erupted.

  • Mount Nyiragongo located 10 km from Goma erupted on 22 May 2021, turning the sky red and bringing a strong smell of sulfur to the streets of the city.
  • Goma is home to nearly 2 million people.
  • Power outages were reported in multiple locations.


  • The volcano last erupted in 2002, with some 250 people losing their lives and lava destroying approximately one-fifth of city, including airport runways.

About Goma:

  • Goma sits along the border between Congo and neighboring Rwanda.
  • It is a regional hub for many humanitarian agencies in the region, as well as the U.N. peacekeeping mission known as MONUSCO.

About Mount Nyiragongo:

  • Mount Nyiragongo is one of the worlds most active and dangerous volcanoes located in Democratic Republic of the Congo.
  • It has an elevation of 3,470 m in Virunga Mountains which are associated with Albertine Rift.
  • The volcano erupting is close the Virunga National Park, home to some of the last mountain gorillas in the world. 
  • Main crater of volcano is about two kilometres wide and is comprises of lava lake.
  • The crater presently has two distinct cooled lava benches within the crater walls – one at about 3,175 m (10,417 ft) and a lower one at about 2,975 m (9,760 ft).
  • Nyiragongo and Nyamuragira are together responsible for 40% of historical volcanic eruptions in Africa.

About Virunga National Park:

  • Virunga National Park is a national park in the Albertine Rift Valley in the eastern part of the Democratic Republic of the Congo.
  • It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site internationally recognized for its exceptional wildlife and habitats.
  • It was opened in 1925.
  • It protects 1/3 of the world’s wild mountain gorillas, over one thousand species of mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.
  • This is the first protected area in Africa.
  • It has been listed in the List of World Heritage in Danger since 1994.

About Congo:

  • The Democratic Republic of the Congo, also known as Congo-Kinshasa, DR Congo, the DROC, the DRC, or simply either Congo or the Congo, and historically Zaire, is a country located in the western coast of Central Africa.
  • The country is named after the Congo River, which flows throughout the country.
  • The Congo River is the world’s deepest river and the world’s second-largest river by discharge.
  • To the west lies Gabon; Cameroon to its northwest and the Central African Republic to its northeast; the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the southeast and the Angolan exclave of Cabinda to its south; and the Atlantic Ocean to its southwest.
  • The Republic of the Congo became fully independent from France on 15 August 1960.
  • The capital of Congo is Kansasa.
  • The currency used here is Congolese franc
  • The current President is Félix Tshisekedi.

Subscribe for News Feed