Modi inducts 21 new ministers, reshuffles portfolios | Daily Current Affairs 2021
1xbet 1xbet bahisno1 bahsegel casino siteleri ecopayz güvenilir bahis siteleri canlı bahis siteleri iddaa marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis restbet canlı skor süperbahis mobilbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis
bahissenin tipobet betmatik

Modi inducts 21 new ministers, reshuffles portfolios

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

Modi inducts 21 new ministers, reshuffles portfoliosPrime Minister Narendra Modi  expanded his council of ministers on Nov 9, 2014 (Monday), inducting 21 new faces, including four of cabinet rank, in a bid to consolidate the gains of the Lok Sabha elections by giving representation to various regions and communities, while also reshuffling some key portfolios.

Manohar Parrikar is the new defence minister, Suresh Prabhu has been given charge of railways, Jagat Prasad Nadda is the new health and family welfare minister, while Birender Singh succeeds the late Gopinath Munde as the rural development and panchayati raj minister.

The 45-member Modi ministry  added to it four cabinet ministers, three ministers of state with independent charge, and 14 ministers of state (MoS).

Portfolios of the new ministers were announced late Sunday night ahead of the first meeting of the expanded ministry slated for Monday. There was also a reshuffle of portfolios.


  • Rajnath Singh: Home Affairs
  • Sushma Swaraj: External Affairs, Overseas Indian Affairs
  • Arun Jaitley: Finance, Corporate Affairs, Information & Broadcasting
  • M. Venkaiah Naidu: Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation, Parliamentary Affairs
  • Nitin Jairam Gadkari: Road Transport and Highways, Shipping
  • Manohar Parrikar: Defence
  • Suresh Prabhu: Railways
  • D.V. Sadananda Gowda : Law & Justice
  • Uma Bharati: Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation
  • Najma A. Heptulla: Minority Affairs
  • Ramvilas Paswan: Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
  • Kalraj Mishra: Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
  • Maneka Sanjay Gandhi: Women and Child Development
  • Ananthkumar: Chemicals and Fertilizers
  • Ravi Shankar Prasad: Communications and Information Technology
  • Jagat Prakash Nadda: Health & Family Welfare
  • Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati: Civil Aviation
  • Anant Geete: Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises
  • Harsimrat Kaur Badal: Food Processing Industries
  • Narendra Singh Tomar: Mines, Steel
  • Chaudhary Birender Singh: Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, Drinking Water and Sanitation
  • Jual Oram: Tribal Affairs
  • Radha Mohan Singh: Agriculture
  • Thaawar Chand Gehlot: Social Justice and Empowerment
  • Smriti Zubin Irani: Human Resource Development
  • Harsh Vardhan: Science and Technology, Earth Sciences


  • General V.K. Singh: Statistics and Programme Implementation (Independent Charge), External Affairs, Overseas Indian Affairs
  • Inderjit Singh Rao: Planning (Independent Charge), Defence
  • Santosh Kumar Gangwar: Textiles (Independent Charge)
  • Bandaru Dattatreya: Labour and Employment (Independent Charge)
  • Rajiv Pratap Rudy: Skill Development & Entrepreneurship (Independent Charge), Parliamentary Affairs
  • Shripad Yesso Naik: AAYUSH (Independent Charge), Health & Family Welfare
  • Dharmendra Pradhan: Petroleum and Natural Gas (Independent Charge)
  • Sarbananda Sonowal: Youth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge)
  • Prakash Javadekar: Environment, Forest and Climate Change (Independent Charge)
  • Piyush Goyal: Power (Independent Charge), Coal (Independent Charge), New and Renewable Energy (Independent Charge)
  • Jitendra Singh: Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge), Prime Minister’s Office, Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Space
  • Nirmala Sitharaman: Commerce and Industry (Independent Charge)
  • Mahesh Sharma: Culture (Independent Charge), Tourism (Independent Charge), Civil Aviation
  • Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi: Minority Affairs, Parliamentary Affairs
  • Ram Kripal Yadav: Drinking Water & Sanitation
  • Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary: Home Affairs
  • Sanwar Lal Jat: Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
  • Mohanbhai Kalyanjibhai Kundariya: Agriculture
  • Giriraj Singh: Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises
  • Hansraj Gangaram Ahir: Chemicals & Fertilizers
  • G.M. Siddeshwara: Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises

Subscribe for News Feed