McCullum named captain of ICC 2015 cricket World Cup team | Current Affairs, Current Affairs 2019

McCullum named captain of ICC 2015 cricket World Cup team

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

McCullum named captain of ICC 2015 cricket World Cup teamNew Zealand’s Brendon McCullum has been named captain of the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) World Cup team, a release from the sport’s governing body said on March 30, 2015.

McCullum was chosen as the captain following his aggressive, innovative and inspirational leadership during the 44-day tournament that was the cornerstone of his team’s progression to the final where it lost to fellow co-hosts Australia by seven wickets.

McCullum also scored 328 runs in nine matches with four half-centuries at a strike-rate of 188.50.

The release also said the team was chosen by a select group of experts who were given the task of picking a balanced side on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for the selections.

In addition to McCullum, the side includes four New Zealanders — Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill, Daniel Vettori — three Australians in Glenn Maxwell, Steven Smith and Mitchell Starc, two South Africans, AB de Villiers and Morne Morkel, with Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara as wicketkeeper-batsman.

No Indian features in the team despite the defending champions winning a run of seven straight consecutive matches that was brought to an end by eventual champions Australia in the last four stage.

Zimbabwe’s Brendan Taylor, who finished with 433 runs in six matches, was named as the 12th man.

The team: Martin Guptill (New Zealand), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand (captain), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) (wicketkeeper), Steven Smith (Australia), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Glenn Maxwell (Australia), Corey Anderson (New Zealand), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Morne Morkel (South Africa), Brendan Taylor (Zimbabwe) (12th man).

Subscribe for News Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *