Mamata Banerjee takes oath as West Bengal CM | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Mamata Banerjee takes oath as West Bengal CM

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

Mamata Banerjee was sworn as West Bengal Chief Minister for the third time in the shadow of Covid and post-poll violence in parts of the state.

  • She called on Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar at Raj Bhavan and resigned as the chief minister, as is the practice, before she was administered the oath of office and secrecy again.


  • The oath ceremony took place with Covid protocols in place at the “Throne Room” at the Raj Bhavan.
  • The rest of the cabinet and the council of ministers will be sworn in on May 9, the birth anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore.
  • Mamata Banerjee won a landslide victory in the Bengal election to secure a third straight term.
  • The Trinamool won 213 of 292 seats while its strongest rival, BJP, finished second with 77 seats.
  • Mamata Banerjee will head to her office Nabanna, where she will be given a guard of honour by the Kolkata Police.

West Bengal:

  • West Bengal is a state in eastern India.
  • It lies between the Himalayas and the Bay of Bengal.
  • It borders Bangladesh in the east, and Nepal and Bhutan in the north.
  • It also borders the Indian states of Odisha, Jharkhand, Bihar, Sikkim, and Assam.
  • The state capital is Kolkata.
  • It was established on 26 January 1950.
  • The current Chief Minister and Governor of West Bengal are Mamta Banerjee and Jagdeep Dhankhar respectively.

Subscribe for News Feed