Mamata Banerjee Government Clears Proposal To Form A State Legislative Council | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Mamata Banerjee Government Clears Proposal To Form A State Legislative Council

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
Mamata Banerjee

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee recently announced that a Legislative Council (Vidhan Parishad) will be set up in the State.

  • The decision was taken during a cabinet meeting, conducted via video conferencing, by the CM and several Departmental Secretaries.
  • The Trinamool Congress in its manifesto promised the formation of the Council.
  • WB CM had indicated that certain people who will not face election can be nominated through the Council.
  • However, the setting up of a second chamber is not exclusively in the hands of the state government.
  • The central government also has to pilot a Bill in Parliament.

Note: Article 169 of the Constitution empowers the Legislative Assembly to create or abolish a Legislative Council by passing a resolution. The resolution has to be passed by two-thirds of the Assembly members.Then a Bill to this effect has to be passed by Parliament.

West Bengal Legislative Assembly:

  • The West Bengal Legislative Assembly is the unicameral legislature of the Indian state of West Bengal.
  • It is Located in the B. B. D. Bagh area of Kolkata (Calcutta)-the Capital of the state.
  • Members of the Legislative assembly are directly elected by the people.
  • The legislative assembly comprises 294 Members of Legislative Assembly, all directly elected from single-seat constituencies.
  • Its term is five years, unless sooner dissolved.


  • The West Bengal Legislative Council remained in existence till 1969.
  • On 21 March 1969, a resolution was passed by the West Bengal Legislative Assembly for the abolition of the Legislative Council.
  • Subsequently, Indian Parliament passed the West Bengal Legislative Council (Abolition) Act, 1969 abolishing the Legislative Council with effect from 1 August 1969.

Legislative Councils in India:

Currently, six states — Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana and Karnataka — have a Legislative Council.

Subscribe for News Feed