Laureus World Sports Awards, 2021 | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Laureus World Sports Awards, 2021

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

The Laureus World Sports Awards, 2021 was recently held in Seville.

The following are the winners of the Laureus World Sports 2021 Awards:

  • Naomi Osaka (tennis, Japan) won the Sportswoman of the Year
  • Rafael Nadal (tennis, Spain) won the Sportsman of the Year
  • Billie Jean King (tennis, USA) won the Lifetime Achievement
  • FC Bayern (football, Germany) won the Team of the Year
  • Patrick Mahomes (American Football, USA) won the Breakthrough of the Year
  • Max Parrot (Snowboarding, Canada) won the World Comeback of the Year
  • Kickformore by Kickfair (football, German) won the Sport for Good
  • Mo Salah (football, Liverpool & Egypt) won the Sporting Inspiration Award
  • Lewis Hamilton (Formula One, Mercedes & UK) won the Athlete Advocate of the Year

This year the Laureus World sports Award for Action Sports person of the year was not awarded.

About Laureus World Sports Awards:

  • The Laureus World Sports Awards are presented to honour individuals and teams who have achieved in sports throughout the year.
  • It was established in 1999 by the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation.
  • It is supported by Mitsubishi, Mercedes Benz. The first Laureus World Sports Awards was presented in 2000.
  • The winners are presented with a statue of Laureus. It is created by the Cartier.


  • The Cartier is the French Luxury Goods manufacturer.
  • It manufactures watches, jewelry.
  • It was founded in 1847.

Additional Info:

  • In 2020, the awards were presented in eight categories.
  • Roger Federer, a Swiss Tennis player holds the record for the most of the awards. He has won six “Sportsman of the Year” awards and one comeback of the year award.
  • In 2020, Sachin Tendulkar won Laureus World Sports Award for Laureus Sporting Moment 2000-2020.

Subscribe for News Feed