K P Sharma Oli sworn in as Nepal Prime Minister again | Daily Current Affairs 2021

K P Sharma Oli sworn in as Nepal Prime Minister again

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

On May 14, 2021, K P Sharma Oli was sworn in as the Prime Minister of Nepal for the third time.


  • President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered his oath of office.
  • CPN-UML chairperson KP Sharma Oli recently lost a crucial trust vote in the House of Representatives.
  • He was re-appointed as the Prime Minister as the opposition couldn’t prove their majority.
  • Along with Mr Oli, cabinet members under his administration also took an oath of secrecy.
  • Oli is now required to win a vote of confidence at the House within 30 days of his appointment as the new Prime Minister, failing which an attempt to form a government under Article 76 (5) would be initiated.

Article 76 of the Nepal Constitution:

  • Article 76 (5) of the constitution states that if a Prime Minister appointed according to clause 76 (3) fails to receive a vote of confidence pursuant to clause 76 (4), the president shall appoint a member as Prime Minister who produces bases that he/she may win the vote of confidence of the House as provided in clause (2).
  • Article 76 (2) states that if there is not clear majority of any party according to clause (1), the President shall appoint as Prime Minister the member of the House of Representatives who can have the majority with the support of two more parties represented in the House of Representatives.
  • The Prime Minister as appointed under the above procedure is given thirty days to prove his vote of confidence.
  • If the Prime Minister is not able to gain vote of confidence within thirty days, the President shall appoint the leader of the party that gained the highest number of members in the House of Representatives.
  • Again he is given time to prove his majority.
  • If none of the above clauses are possible, then the President shall dissolve the parliament and launch fresh elections.

 About PM Oli:

  • He is the 43rd Prime Minister of Nepal.
  • He previously served as prime minister from October 11, 2015, to August 3, 2016, and again from February 15, 2018, to May 13, 2021.

Subscribe for News Feed