J&K, Ladakh Union Territories to have common High Court | Current Affairs, Current Affairs 2019

J&K, Ladakh Union Territories to have common High Court

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

The two Union Territories- Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh will have a common high court, Jammu and Kashmir High Court. The information was shared by the State Judicial Academy’s Director Rajeev Gupta on September 8, 2019.

Rajeev Gupta said that 108 Central Laws would be applicable for the Union Territories of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh. He also said that 164 state laws would be repealed and 166 state laws will continue to be applicable.

Under the centre’s announcement after revoking of Article 370, the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir will have a legislative Assembly, while the Union Territory of Ladakh will come under the direct control of the Union Government.

The two Union Territories will now share a common high court. While some laws will change, the existing law procedure for practice in the high court will remain the same.

Rajeev Gupta made the announcement while speaking a refresher programme, organised by the SJA on “Appreciation of evidence with specific reference to Dying Declaration, Accomplice Statement and Confessional Statement” for Session Judges of Jammu province. During his speech, Gupta also discussed the effects of J&K Reorganization Act, 2019 on State Laws in Jammu and Kashmir and the pending cases.

States/UTs with common High Courts

1. Bombay High Court: The jurisdiction of the high court covers the states of Goa and Maharashtra and Union Territories- Dadra and Nagar Haveli & Daman and Diu.

2. Calcutta High Court: The Calcutta High Court has jurisdiction over West Bengal and the Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

3. Madras High Court: The High Court has jurisdiction over Tamil Nadu and the Union Territory of Puducherry. 

4. Gauhati High Court: The High Court has jurisdiction over four states- AssamArunachal PradeshMizoram and Nagaland.

5. Kerala High Court: The High Court has jurisdiction over Kerala and the Union Territory of Lakshadweep.

6. Punjab and Haryana High Court: The High Court has jurisdiction over the states of Punjab and Haryana and the Union Territory of Chandigarh


The Union Government on August 5, 2019 abrogated Article 370 of the Indian constitution, revoking the special status of the state of Jammu and Kashmir. The resolution was approved by the Parliament.

The Parliament also passed a bill, bifurcating the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories of J&K and Ladakh.

President Ram Nath Kovind gave his assent to the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019 on August 9, thus, finalizing the bifurcation of the state. The two Union Territories will come into existence from October 31, 2019.

View : Jagran josh.com

Subscribe for News Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *