ISRO successfully conducts hot tests on Gaganyaan Service Module (SM) Propulsion System | Daily Current Affairs 2022
onwin giriş
betvakti elexusbet gorabet maksibet maltcasino milosbet quennbet setrabet atlantisbahis artoscasino dumanbet elitbahis fashionbet favoribahis hiltonbet liderbahis oslobet romabet vegabet yorkbet kalebet bet10bet bahislion bahislion bahislion betpark dakikbet dumanbet fenomenbet holiganbet kalebet kolaybet lordbahis olabahis piabet pusulabet süper10bet supertotobet mariobet bahis siteleri güvenilir bahis siteleri kaçak bahis siteleri ligobet polobet verabet
bahis bahis atlasbet baysansli bet10bet betkolik betsidney fashionbet gorabet holiganbet odeonbet romabet betasus betdoksan betgarden btcbahis casinoper casinovale coinbar eurocasino kazansana lesabahis mottobet trcasino trendbet nerobet bahistek
betgaranti giriş betpark giriş mariobet giriş supertotobet giriş tipobet giriş betist giriş kolaybet giriş betmatik giriş onwin giriş

ISRO successfully conducts hot tests on Gaganyaan Service Module (SM) Propulsion System

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
Gaganyaan Service Module (SM) Propulsion System

Gaganyaan Service Module Propulsion System: The Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) recently conducted a hot test on its Gaganyaan Service Module (SM) Propulsion System.

Key Points:

  • The test was conducted in the ISRO Propulsion Complex (IPRC), Mahendragiri, Tamil Nadu.
  • This was the first hot test of the System Demonstration Model (SDM) of the Gaganyaan SM Propulsion System which differs from the hot test the agency conducted on the Vikas engine.
  • The test was conducted for a duration of 450 seconds.
  • The system performance was successful in meeting the test objectives and matched the pre-test predictions.
  • ISRO has Further plans to a series of hot tests are planned to simulate various mission conditions as well as off-nominal conditions.

About Service Module (SM):

  • The Service Module (SM) is part of the Gaganyaan Orbital module.
  • It is located below the crew module and remains connected to it until re-entry.
  • The SM Propulsion System consists of a unified bipropellant system consisting of five numbers of 440 N thrust engines and 16 numbers of 100 N Reaction Control Systems (RCS) thrusters with MON-3 and MMH as Oxidizer and Fuel respectively.
  • The SDM, consisting of five numbers of 440 N engines and eight numbers of 100 N thrusters, was realized to qualify the propulsion system performance in the ground.

A new test facility is established at IPRC, Mahendragiri for testing the SDM

About Gaganyaan Mission:

  • The Gaganyaan Mission is an ambitious space programme by the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO).
  • This mission was announced by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on August 15, 2018, during his Independence Day speech.
  • The mission aims to send India’s first human spaceflight mission.
  • As a part of the programme, four Indian astronaut candidates have undergone generic space flight training in Russia.
  • Human Space Flight Centre which functions under ISRO is responsible for the implementation of this mission.
  • With the success of the Gaganyaan mission, India will become the 4th nation to launch a crewed mission into space after USSR/Russia, the US, and China.

Tests conducted by ISRO:

  • ISRO on July 14, 2021, successfully conducted the third long-duration hot test of the liquid propellant Vikas Engine for the GSLV MkIII launch vehicle for the Gaganyaan Mission.
  • Before sending humans on the spacecraft under the mission, ISRO will send two uncrewed GSLV-Mk III rockets into space.

GSLV-Mk III Rockets:

  • The Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV-Mk III) will be used as the launch vehicle.
  • It consists of a service module and a crew module.
  • The service module is known as the Orbital Module which will be powered by two liquid-propellant engines.

About ISRO:

  • Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) is the space agency of the Government of India (GoI) and was formed on 15 August 1969.
  • It superseded the erstwhile “Indian National Committee For Space Research” (INCOSPAR) which was established in 1962 by the efforts of Independent India’s first prime minister‚ Jawaharlal Nehru‚ and his close aide and scientist Vikram Sarabhai.
  • In 1972, the GoI had set up a Space Commission and the Department of Space (DOS), bringing ISRO under the DOS.
  • ISRO then embarked on its mission to provide the Nation space-based services and to develop the technologies to achieve the same independently.
  • Its vision is to “harness space technology for natural development while pursuing space science research & planetary exploration”.
  • ISRO built India’s first satellite Aryabhata.
  • It is headquartered in Bangalore, India.
  • The current Chairman of ISRO is K Sivan.

Subscribe for News Feed