ICC approves Test Championship and ODI league | Daily Current Affairs 2021
onwin giriş

ICC approves Test Championship and ODI league

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

Aiming to form a new league of its own, International Cricket Council has approved Test Championship and One-Day International League, David Richardson, the ICC chief executive, confirmed in Auckland after the governing body’s meeting.
According to an official report, the Test Championship, the top nine teams will play six series – three at home and three away – and it’ll be put in place after the 2019 World Cup. The teams will be required to play at least two Tests while it can be expanded to five Tests in a series as well. The Test Championship, however, won’t include Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and Ireland.
The ODI league, that’s set to be put in place in 2020, will have 13 teams – the 12 Full Members and the winner of the ICC World Cricket League Championship. The teams will battle it out to earn direct qualification for the World Cup. The ODI league will first have a two-year cycle ahead of the 2023 World Cup. However, it’ll be changed to a three-year cycle with teams battling it out in eight series – four at home and four away series – with a maximum of three ODIs in one series.

Subscribe for News Feed