Govt launches GST Council for lotteries | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Govt launches GST Council for lotteries

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

In pursuance of decision in the 32nd Meeting of GST Council held on 10th January, 2019 at New Delhi, a Group of Ministers (GoM) on issues relating to lottery has been constituted.

The ‘GoM for Lottery’ shall consists of Sudhir Mungantiwar(Finance Minister, Government of Maharashtra), Dr. T.M. Thomas Isaac (Finance Minister, Government of Kerala), Dr. Amit Mitra (Finance Minister, Government of West Bengal), Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma (Finance Minister, Government of Assam), Mauvin Godinho ( Minister of Panchayat, Government of Goa), Manpreet Singh Badal (Finance Minister, Government of Punjab), Krishna Byre Gowda (Finance Minister, Government of Karnataka), Jarkar Gamlin (Minister, Taxes and Excise, Government of Arunachal Pradesh). The Terms of Reference (ToR) for the GoM for lottery shall be as follows, whether the disparity in tax structure on the same product/commodity be continued or a uniform rate be prescribed for both; Whether private persons authorized by the States are misusing the lower rate and getting enriched themselves at the cost of the State and suggest measures to curb it; Examine any other issue related to enforcement including the legal frame work, so as to prevent evasion of tax on lottery and suggest appropriate tax rate to address the problem;
The GoM on issues relating to lottery shall be assisted by a Committee of officers from the Centre and the States as convened by the GoM; Secretary of the GoM on issues relating to lottery shall be Shri Manish Sinha, Joint Secretary (TRU-II), CBIC; The GoM for lottery shall submit its report to GST Council in next Meeting for consideration of the GST Council.

Subscribe for News Feed