Govt allows foreigners to visit Nagaland, Mizoram and Manipur | Current Affairs, Current Affairs 2019

Govt allows foreigners to visit Nagaland, Mizoram and Manipur

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

In a significant move, the Home Ministry has decided to relax the six-decade-old Protected Area Permit regime from Nagaland, Mizoram and Manipur for five years with effect from April 1.
According to a government official, foreign tourists, except those from Pakistan, China and Afghanistan, would now be allowed to visit those states without a special permit.
The protected areas currently include whole of Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Sikkim, besides parts of Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand and Jammu and Kashmir. Some parts of Sikkim fall under the protected area regime while others under the restricted area.
As per a December 30, 2010 circular of the ministry, Manipur, Mizoram and Nagaland were excluded from the protected area regime initially for a period of one year from January 1, 2011, subject to some conditions. As per the guidelines, a foreign national is not normally allowed to visit a protected or restricted area unless the government is satisfied that there are extraordinary reasons to justify his or her visit.

Subscribe for News Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *