Government forms three-member panel to review EWS quota

The Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment has appointed a three-member committee to revisit the criteria for 10% reservation for economically weaker sections (EWS) in educational institutions and government jobs.

The panel has as members Ajay Bhushan Pandey, former finance secretary; Prof. V.K. Malhotra, member secretary of the Indian Council of Social Science Research; and Sanjeev Sanyal, principal economic adviser to the Centre.

The committee will also examine various approaches so far followed in the country for identifying economically weaker sections, and recommend criteria that may be adopted for identifying EWS category in future.

The panel has been given three weeks’ time to suggest new criteria.

The 10% EWS quota was introduced under the 103rd Constitution (Amendment) Act, 2019 which is under challenge before a five-judge Constitution bench of the Supreme Court.