Daily Current Affairs 2021 Government announces 9 new smart cities | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Government announces 9 new smart cities

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

Government has added 9 new smart cities to the Smart Cities Mission.
Addressing a press conference, Union Housing and Urban Affairs Minister Hardeep Singh Puri said, ‘The number of cities picked under the project now stands at 99. Under the scheme, each city will get Rs. 500 crore from the centre for implementing various projects. An equal amount, on matching basis, will have to be contributed by the state or urban local bodies. The nine cities chosen in the fourth round are; Bareilly, Moradabad and Saharanpur in Uttar Pradesh, Erode in Tamil Nadu, Bihar Sharif in Bihar, Silvasa in Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Diu in Daman and Diu, Kavarati in Lakshadweep and Itanagar in Arunachal Pradesh. Shillong will be the 100th city provided it submits its proposal to the centre in next three months, a senior official said. The nine cities were selected from 15 cities that had submitted their proposals to the ministry.
Uttar Pradesh’s Meerut, Ghaziabad, Rampur and Rae Bareli were among cities that failed to make the cut for Smart City tag. Silvasa topped the list of winners in this round.
He further explained, ‘the nine cities selected have proposed an investment of Rs. 12,824 crore… which would be impacting 35.3 lakh persons living in these areas’.

Subscribe for News Feed

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *