Goa Assembly passes bill providing ownership rights to dwellers of self-occupied houses | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Goa Assembly passes bill providing ownership rights to dwellers of self-occupied houses

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
Goa Bhumiputra Adhikarini Bill, 2021

Goa Bhumiputra Adhikarini Bill, 2021: The Goa Legislative Assembly recently passed the Goa Bhumiputra Adhikarini Bill, 2021.

Note: Bhumiputra” is a person who is residing in Goa for at least 30 years.

Key Highlights:

  • It is a bill providing a mechanism to grant the ownership rights to ”bumiputras” (sons-of-soil) who are living in small housing units occupied by them in the state.
  • This Bill was passed in the 40-member House by voice vote on the last day of the session on 30th July 2021.


  • The objective of the Bill is to enable the ‘mool Goenkar (original Goan)’ to live with dignity.

Key Points of the Bill:

  • It recognizes anyone living in the state for 30 years or more as a ‘Bhumiputra (son of the soil)’ and giving such a person the right to own his or her ‘small dwelling unit’ if ownership was undetermined so far.
  • This bill provides protection to bumiputras so that they shall not be evicted from the dwelling units occupied by them and the units shall not be demolished during the pendency of any proceedings under this law.
  • Once recognized as a Bhumiputra, an individual can stake claim to ownership of their house of not more than 250 sq m, built before April 1, 2019.
  • The Bill provides for the constitution of the Bhumiputra Adhikarini — a committee consisting of the Deputy Collector as its Chairperson.

About Goa:

  • Goa is a state in western India with coastlines stretching along the Arabian Sea. It is surrounded by the Indian states of Maharashtra to the north and Karnataka to the east and south, with the Arabian Sea forming its western coast.
  • It is India’s smallest state by area and the fourth-smallest by population.
  • The capital of Goa is Panaji.
  • The current Chief Minister and the Governor of Goa are Pramod Sawant and Bhagat Singh Koshyari respectively.

Subscribe for News Feed