Daily Current Affairs 2021 France wins 2018 FIFA World Cup Final | Daily Current Affairs 2021

France wins 2018 FIFA World Cup Final

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

France goalkeeper Hugo Lloris lifts the trophy after France won 4-2 during the final match between France and Croatia at the 2018 soccer World Cup in the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, Russia, Sunday, July 15, 2018. (AP Photo/Martin Meissner)

France won the 2018 FIFA World Cup Final by beating Croatia 4-2.

France which entered the tournament as a favorite, was backed top players such as Kylian Mbappe and Antoine Griezmann. The win has caused celebrations to erupt all over France, with jubilant fans waving French fans and cheering.

By some measures, Croatia dominated the entire match. It held possession of the ball for more than 60 percent of it. Apart from this, the team had better passing accuracy than France, and made nearly double the attempts at the goal than France did.

But in the end France’s offense came through at key moments, and their four goals secured their title as World Cup Champions.

At 18 minutes in, Croatia received its first major blow. Croatia forward Mario Mandzukic mistakenly scored a goal for France by heading it into his own team’s goal. Mandzukic now “has the misfortune of being the first player to score an own goal in a World Cup Final.”

Shortly after, Croatia’s Ivan Perisic delivered a goal, tying up the game. Then, referees awarded France a penalty kick for a handball by Perisic, giving France a valuable opportunity.

It’s an opportunity that France’s Antoine Griezmann made the most of, scoring a goal and bringing the score up to 2-1 at the half.

France’s Paul Pogba scored at the 59 minute mark, quickly followed by another goal from France six minutes later, this time from Mbappe. That goal was also historic. It made 19-year-old Mbappe the first teenager to score at a World Cup Final since Pele, the Brazilian soccer legend.

Croatia’s Mandzukic then scored, bringing the score to 4-2, thanks to an error from France.

Croatia’s Luka Modric was awarded the Golden Ball for the tournament, given to the competition’s best player. The Golden Boot, awarded to the leading scorer, went to England’s Harry Kane. Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois won the Golden Glove, given to the best goalkeeper, and Mbappe received the Young Player Award. Spain’s disciplinary record was honored with the tournament’s Fair Play Trophy.

Subscribe for News Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *