Five Trinamool leaders file nomination for RS election | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Five Trinamool leaders file nomination for RS election

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

Five Trinamool Congress (TMC) leaders on Wednesday filed their nomination papers from West Bengal for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections.

The party also said it was ready to support the candidature of former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar if the Congress agreed to field her from the state to be elected to the upper House.

“We will support the Congress if they field Meira Kumar,” a senior TMC leader told IANS.

Party’s Chief National Spokesperson Derek O’Brien, Sukhendu Sekhar Roy and Dola Sen were among the five Trinamool Congress candidates filing their papers.

Former West Bengal Pradesh Congress Committee President Manas Bhunia, who had joined the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress in last September, also filed his nomination.

Apart from them, former Gorkha National Liberation Front leader from Darjeeling hills Santa Chetri, who joined Trinamool, was also among the party’s candidates.

After filing of nominations by the candidates, party’s Secretary General Partha Chatterjee told reporters: “Our party supremo Mamata Banerjee is an inspiration for us. She is fighting for the rights of the people, not only in Bengal but in entire India. Our candidates will strengthen her voice in favour of the people in the Rajya Sabha.”

The elections will be held for the six Rajya Sabha seats from the state on August 8.

Subscribe for News Feed