FIFA Womens World Cup 2019 | Daily Current Affairs 2021

FIFA Womens World Cup 2019

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France starts on today. The host nation takes on South Korea. Twenty-four nations will be pitted in France to fight for the right to take home the most coveted trophy in the sport. The United States women’s national team is one of the favorites entering the competition, having won the 2015 World Cup in Canada by beating Japan in the final. The U.S. begins its participation against Thailand on June 11.

Click on the link below to see the schedule :

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is an international football competition contested by the senior women’s national teams of the members of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s international governing body. The competition has been held every four years since 1991, when the inaugural tournament, then called the FIFA Women’s World Championship, was held in China.

The seven FIFA Women’s World Cup tournaments have been won by four national teams. United States have won three times including the last one in 2015. The other winners are Germany, with two titles; Japan and Norway with one title each.

Five countries have hosted the Women’s World Cup. China and United States have hosted twice, while Canada, Germany and Sweden have each hosted once. France are the hosts for the 2019 edition.

Subscribe for News Feed