Eighth Schedule to the Constitution: Twitter campaign for Tulu as official language | Daily Current Affairs 2021
onwin giriş

Eighth Schedule to the Constitution: Twitter campaign for Tulu as official language

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
Eighth Schedule to the Constitution

Various organizations recently initiated a Twitter campaign. The Twitter campaign was initiated to demand official language status to Tulu in Karnataka and Kerala and include it in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution.

About Tulu:

  • Tulu is a Dravidian language spoken mainly in two coastal districts Dakshina Kannada and Udupi of Karnataka and Kasaragod district of Kerala.
  • The native speakers of Tulu are referred to as Tuluva or Tulu people and the geographical area is unofficially called Tulu Nadu.
  • The Indian census report of 2011 reported a total of 1,846,427 native Tulu speakers in India while the 2001 census had reported a total of 1,722,768 native speakers.


  • Separated early from Proto-South Dravidian, Tulu has several features not found in Tamil–Kannada. For example, it has the past perfect and the future perfect, like French or Spanish, but formed without an auxiliary verb.


  • At present, Tulu is not an official language in the country.
  • Efforts are being made to include Tulu in the eighth schedule of the Constitution.

Tulu art, culture and cinema:

Tulu has a rich oral literature tradition with folk-song forms like paddana, and traditional folk theatre yakshagana.

Tulu also has an active tradition of cinema with around 5 to 7 Tulu language movies produced a year.

Constitutional provisions relating to Eighth Schedule:

  • The Constitutional provisions relating to the Eighth Schedule occur in article 344(1) and 351 of the Constitution.
  • Article 344(1) provides for the constitution of a Commission by the President on expiration of five years from the commencement of the Constitution and thereafter at the expiration of ten years from such commencement.
  • Article 351 of the Constitution provides that it shall be the duty of the Union to promote the spread of the Hindi language to develop it so that it may serve as a medium of expression for all by assimilating without interfering with its genius, the forms, style and expressions used in Hindustani and in the other languages of India specified in the Eighth Schedule.

What is the List of languages in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution?

The Eighth Schedule to the Constitution consists of the following 22 languages:-

(1) Assamese,

(2) Bengali,

(3) Gujarati,

(4) Hindi,

(5) Kannada,

(6) Kashmiri,

(7) Konkani,

(8) Malayalam,

(9) Manipuri,

(10) Marathi,

(11) Nepali,

(12) Oriya,

(13) Punjabi,

(14) Sanskrit,

(15) Sindhi,

(16) Tamil,

(17) Telugu,

(18) Urdu

(19) Bodo,

(20) Santhali,

(21) Maithili and

(22) Dogri.


Fourteen languages were initially included in the Constitution.

Sindhi language was added in 1967.

Thereafter three more languages viz., Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali were included in 1992.

Subsequently Bodo, Dogri, Maithili and Santhali were added in 2004.

Subscribe for News Feed