Ebrahim Raisi was sworn in as Iran’s eighth President | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Ebrahim Raisi was sworn in as Iran’s eighth President

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
Ebrahim Raisi

Ebrahim Raisi: Ebrahim Raisi, on August 05, 2021, was officially sworn in as the new president of Iran.

Key Points:

  • The 60-year-old Raisi won the 2021 Iranian presidential election in June, with 62 percent of the vote.
  • Hardline cleric Raisi took over from moderate Hassan Rouhani, whose landmark achievement during his two-term presidency was the 2015 agreement between the Islamic Republic and six world powers.
  • With Raisi’s presidency, all branches of power in Iran will be controlled by anti-Western hardliners loyal to Khamenei.
  • He is also been the Chief Justice of Iran since March 2019.

Iran Crisis:

  • Iran has been grappling with a deep economic and social crisis following former US President Donald Trump’s decision to unilaterally withdraw the United States (US) from the deal in 2018 and reimpose crushing sanctions.
  • Tensions in the region are also high following a string of maritime provocations blamed by the West on Tehran.

About Iran:

  • Iran also called Persia, and officially the Islamic Republic of Iran is a country in Western Asia.
  • It is bordered to the northwest by Armenia and Azerbaijan, to the north by the Caspian Sea, to the northeast by Turkmenistan, to the east by Afghanistan and Pakistan, to the south by the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman, and to the west by Turkey and Iraq.
  • Its central location in Eurasia and Western Asia, and its proximity to the Strait of Hormuz, give it geostrategic importance.
  • The capital of Iran is Tehran.
  • The currency used there is the Iranian Rial.
  • The current President of Iran is Ebrahim Raisi.

Subscribe for News Feed