Daily Current Affairs 2021 Dipa Karmakar star attraction at CSJC awards | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Dipa Karmakar star attraction at CSJC awards

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

dipaDipa Karmakar, who became the first Indian woman to qualify for gymnastics in the Olympics was the star attraction at the Calcutta Sports Journalists’ Club (CSJC) awards here.

Dipa received the award as part of the club’s diamond jubilee celebrations for her contribution to the sport. “Thank you for this award. This means a lot,” Dipa said on Wednesday.

Her coach Bisheswar Nandi was also felicitated at the event.

Ace paddler Mouma Das, who made it to her second Olympics too received an award for her achievements alongside table tennis star Soumyajit Ghosh who too has qualified for Rio.

As Ghosh could not be present at the event the memento was collected by his father.

East Bengal’s star striker Ranti Martins, who won the golden boot for the highest scorer in the recent I-League, was feted for his contribution to football in India.

India’s iconic shuttler Saina Nehwal was chosen Best Indian Sportsperson by the CSJC’s members for her stellar run in 2015 during which she also became the World No.1 singles player.

Though she could not be present at the event, she sent a message thanking the members.

Tennis legend Jaidip Mukerjea, hockey Olympic gold medallist Bir Bahadur Chhetri and reputed powerlifter and weightlifter Sumita Laha were the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement awards.

The award winners are:

Lifetime Achievement: Jaidip Mukerjea (tennis), Bir Bahadur Chhetri (hockey) and Sumita Laha (weightlifting and powerlifting).

Outstanding contribution to gymnastics: Bishweshwar Nandi

Unparalleled contribution in gymnastics: Dipa Karmakar

Outstanding contribution to Indian football: Ranti Martins

Best Sportsperson of the Country: Saina Nehwal (badminton)

Best Junior Sportsperson of the Country: Mitrabha Guha (chess)

State awards (Best Player):

Athletics (male): Sashi Bhusan Singh

Athletics (female): Lily Das

Basketball: Sagar Joshi

Badminton: Uthsava Palit

Chess: Diptayan Ghosh

Cricket: Sudip Chatterjee

Football: Debjit Majumdar

Football: Sony Norde (foreigner)

Kabaddi: Rajesh Mondal

Shooting: Kuheli Gangulee

Swimming: Sayani Ghosh

Table Tennis (women): Mouma Das

Table Tennis (men): Soumyajit Ghosh

Volleyball: Kamalika Debnath

Subscribe for News Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *