Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad win 2018 Nobel Peace Prize | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad win 2018 Nobel Peace Prize

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has awarded Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad the Nobel Peace Prize for 2018 for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict. The prize is worth nine million Swedish kronor (USD 1.01 million).The winners have been chosen from among 331 nominations (216 individuals and 115 organisations) which the second highest number of nominees ever, next only to the 376 nominated in 2016.

With the announcement of two names today, the number of peace prizes awarded till now becomes 100, with 133 winners (106 individuals and 27 organisations). Of the 106 individual Laureates, 17 have been women. In 2017, the Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to The International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN). Alfred Nobel, in his will allocating most of his wealth to the establishment of the five Nobel Prizes, wrote: “The said interest shall be divided into five equal parts… one part to the person who shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.”

Subscribe for News Feed