Cong wins Gurdaspur bypoll by vote margin of 1.93 lakh | Daily Current Affairs 2021
onwin giriş

Cong wins Gurdaspur bypoll by vote margin of 1.93 lakh

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

Cong has finally bagged the Gurdaspur bypoll by winning at the margin of 1.93 lakh.
The election was necessary after the demise of BJP MP Vinod Khanna, who had won by a 1.35 lakh vote margin, turned out to be a cakewalk for the Congress candidate and state unit chief, Sunil Kumar Jakhar. He polled 4,99,752 votes against the 3,06,553 votes cast for runner-up and BJP candidate Sawarn Singh Salaria. AAP candidate Suresh Khajuria couldn’t save his security deposit after receiving just 23,579 votes. It should be noted that Cong lost the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha election in 2014 to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), has now won with a margin of 1.93 lakh votes.
The previous record for the highest margin of victory in Gurdaspur was held by former Congress MP Sukhbans Kaur Bhinder, who had won with a margin of 1.51 lakh votes in 1980. Sunday’s landslide win for the Congress holds importance ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha election, with the party hailing it as the “people’s mandate” against the BJP.

Subscribe for News Feed