Ashadhi Bij: The Kutchi New Year | Daily Current Affairs 2021
1xbet 1xbet bahisno1 bahsegel casino siteleri ecopayz güvenilir bahis siteleri canlı bahis siteleri iddaa marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis restbet canlı skor süperbahis mobilbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis marsbahis

Ashadhi Bij: The Kutchi New Year

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed
Ashadhi Bij: The Kutchi New Year

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has greeted the people on the auspicious occasion of Ashadhi Bij, the Kutchi New Year.

Key Points:

  • In 2021, it was observed on July 12.
  • Vikram Samvat 2078 started on June 12, 2021, in the Kutch region.

Note: Vikram Samvat is based on the day when the emperor Vikramaditya defeated Sakas, invaded Ujjain and called for a new era.

About Ashadhi Bij:

  • It is the Kutchi New Year.
  • This Hindu New Year is observed in the Kutch region in Gujarat.
  • In other parts of Gujarat, Hindu New Year is observed on the day after Diwali that is Kartik Shukla Paksha 1.
  • Ashadi Beej or Ashadhi Bij is observed on the second day of the Shukla Paksha or waxing phase of the moon in Ashada month.
  • Ashadhi Bij is an auspicious day for farming communities.
  • The day is celebrated in North India especially in Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh and some other places.
  • It is mostly a traditional affair and is a celebration of rains.
  • During Ashadhi-beej, farmers check the moisture in the atmosphere to help predict which crop would do best in the coming monsoon.
  • Ganesha, Goddess Lakshmi and other regional deities are worshipped on the occasion.

Additional Info:

Some of the Traditional New Year Festivals of India:

  • Chaitra Shukla Pratipada: It marks the beginning of the new year of the Vikram Samvat also known as the Vedic (Hindu) calendar.
  • Gudi Padwa and Ugadi: It is celebrated in the month of Chaitra Shukla Pratipada as per the Hindu Lunar Calendar. It is celebrated in the Deccan region including Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Maharashtra.
  • Navreh: It is the lunar New Year that is celebrated in Kashmir. It falls on the very first day of the Chaitra Navratras.
  • Sajibu Cheiraoba: It is celebrated by Meiteis (an ethnic group in Manipur) which is observed on the first day of Manipur lunar month Shajibu, which falls in the month of April every year.
  • Cheti Chand: It is celebrated by the Sindhi community. Chaitra month is called ‘Chet’ in Sindhi. The day commemorates the birth anniversary of Ishta Deva Uderolal/Jhulelal, the patron saint of Sindhis.
  • Bihu: It is celebrated three times a year. Rongali or Bohag Bihu is observed in April. It is the Assamese New Year and spring festival. The Rongali Bihu coincides with Sikh New Year- Baisakhi.
  • Baisakhi: It is celebrated as the Indian Thanksgiving Day by farmers. It also has religious significance for the Sikhs community as the foundation of the Khalsa Panth was laid on this day by Guru Gobind Singh.
  • Losoong: Losoong also known as Namsoong is the Sikkimese New Year. It is usually the time when the farmers rejoice and celebrate their harvest. It is mostly celebrated in the month of December every year with traditional gaiety and colour both by the Lepchas and Bhutias.

Subscribe for News Feed