Ahmedabad, Kobe are now sister cities, MoU signed | Daily Current Affairs 2021

Ahmedabad, Kobe are now sister cities, MoU signed

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

India’s Ahmedabad and Japan’s Kobe will now be sister cities. The Letter of Intent (LoI) was exchanged on Thursday in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his counterpart Shinzo Abe.

This development will further pave the way for an enhanced economic relationship as well as a cultural exchange between the two vibrant cities as well as the two countries.

Tweeting on the issue External Affairs Ministry spokesperson Raveesh Kumar said, “Strengthening people-to-people ties. PM @narendramodi witnessed the exchange of Letter of Intent on Ahmedabad-Kobe Sister City Partnership at Kobe.”

What is a sister city?

The concept of sister cities or twin towns is a legal and social agreement between towns, cities, counties, oblasts, prefectures, provinces, regions, states between two separate countries to promote cultural and commercial ties.

The plan was conceived after the end of World War II to promote peaceful coexistence and to encourage trade and tourism.

In diplomacy, this concept is seen as a way to enhance strategic ties between two nations, both cultural as well as economic.

India has signed sister city agreements with many countries including China, US, Australia, Russia, Canada, Mauritius, Germany, Hungary, South Korea, Bangladesh, Lithuania, Portugal, Belarus and Jordan.

Subscribe for News Feed