6 new monuments declared monuments of national importance | Daily Current Affairs 2021
onwin giriş

6 new monuments declared monuments of national importance

Posted by
Subscribe for News Feed

Archaeological Survey of India has declared 6 monuments of protected and national importance in 2018.

The six monuments declared as Monuments as Monuments of national importance in 2018 are, Old High Court Building (Nagpur, Maharashtra), Haveli of Agha Khan (Agra, UP), Haveli of Hathi Khana (Agra, UP), Neemrana Baori (Alwar, Rajasthan), Group of Temples (Ranipur Jharail, Odisha), Vishnu Temple (Kotali, Pithoragarh district, Uttarkhand).

According to the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958, an “Ancient Monument means any structure, erection or monument, or any tumulus or place of interment, or any cave, rock-sculpture, inscription or monolith which is of historical, archaeological or artistic interest and which has been in existence for not less than 100 years.”

There were 3,686 centrally protected monuments/sites under the ASI in the country; the number has now increased to 3,693. Uttar Pradesh (745 monuments/sites), Karnataka (506) and Tamil Nadu (413) have the highest number of ASI-maintained sites.

Subscribe for News Feed